A new approach to journalism

Pakistan World Cup 2019 squad finalized

Pakistan World Cup 2019 squad

Lahore: Pakistan cricket selectors on Monday announced a 15-player squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be played in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July.

Pakistan had the flexibility to finalise their line-up until 22 May, but decided to lock their make-up on Monday following the conclusion of the One-Day International series against England in Leeds.

From the 15-player provisional squad, which was announced on 18 April, the selectors have replaced Abid Ali and Junaid Khan with Asif Ali and Mohammad Amir, respectively (both were named as additional players), while Wahab Riaz has been recalled to replace Faheem Ashraf.

Yasir Shah is the fourth player to be released from the side after he was named as Shadab Khan’s replacement for the series against England.

Amir, who is presently in London and has fully recovered from chicken pox, and Wahab is expected to join the squad in Bristol on 22 May. Both the players will be available for selection for the 24 and 26 May warm-up matches before Pakistan launches their World Cup campaign against the Windies on 31 May at Trent Bridge.

The final make-up of Pakistan World Cup 2019 squad

Openers – Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq

Middle-order batsmen – Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarafraz Ahmed (captain, wicketkeeper) and Shoaib Malik

Spinners – Imad Wasim and Shadab Khan

Fast bowlers – Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Wahab Riaz

Pakistan squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, captain)
Asif Ali
Babar Azam
Fakhar Zaman
Haris Sohail
Hasan Ali
Imad Wasim
Mohammad Amir
Mohammad Hafeez
Mohammad Hasnain
Shadab Khan
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shoaib Malik
Wahab Riaz

You might also like