A new approach to journalism

Pakistan T20 squad against Bangladesh

Lahore: Pakistan have named uncapped Ahsan Ali, Amad Butt and Haris Rauf and recalled the experienced duo of Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik, along with pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi, in a 15-player squad for the 24, 25 and 27 January Twenty20 Internationals against Bangladesh in Lahore.

They have replaced seven players who were part of the 16-player squad that lost 2-0 to Australia in November. Players missing out on selection are Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan and Wahab Riaz.

Asif, Fakhar, Haris, Amir and Wahab were also members of the squad that lost 3-0 to Sri Lanka at home in October.

26-year-old Ahsan scored 131 runs in five matches at a strike-rate of just under 149 in the National T20 Cup in Faisalabad in October after scoring 178 runs at a strike-rate of over 130 for Quetta Gladiators in the HBL PSL 2019, while 24-year-old Amad scored 80 runs at a strike-rate of 170 and also took 10 wickets at an economy-rate of 7.62 in the Faisalabad event. 26-year-old Haris, who took six wickets in Faisalabad, is the second leading wicket-taker with 16 in Australia’s Big Bash League.

Squad for T20Is:

1-Babar Azam (captain) (Central Punjab)
2-Ahsan Ali (Sindh)
3-Amad Butt (Balochistan)
4-Haris Rauf (Northern)
5-Iftikhar Ahmed (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
6-Imad Wasim (Northern)
7-Khushdil Shah (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
8-Mohammad Hafeez (Southern Punjab)
9Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh)
10-Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper) (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
11-Musa Khan (Northern)
12-Shadab Khan (Northern)
13-Shaheen Shah Afridi (Northern)
14-Shoaib Malik (Southern Punjab)
15-Usman Qadir (Central Punjab)

You might also like